Filter Photo is pleased to present Context 2016, featuring the work of 30 artists, juried by Jennifer Murray. The exhibition will take place from March 11 through April 23, 2016.  Join us Friday, March 18th from 6-9 pm for our opening reception.


While looking through such a diverse collection of images for this second spring Open Call at Filter Space, various themes naturally emerged.  While photography as a medium has such breadth, there are often recurring ideas and nuances of human culture that we continually use photography to reflect upon.  Loosely based on the idea of fragility, a recurring and unifying theme in this exhibition, the works chosen all seek to reveal the fragile, tenuous, and often vulnerable state that accompanies contemporary life.


Jennifer Murray | Executive Director | Filter Photo


Image Credit: Jason DeMarte, Goldfinch-Pink Cord

Participating Artists


Jaime Alvarez
Lois Bielefeld
Patty Carroll
Jennifer Copp
Jason DeMarte
Mitch Eckert
Sarah Faust
Joan Fitzsimmons
Matt Gehring
Grant Gill

Shané K. Gooding
Meg Griffiths
Tytia Habing
Lucy Hewett
Amy Jorgensen
Rachel Jump
Chrissy LaMaster
Margaret LeJeune
Erin Neve
Marc Newton

David Obermeyer
Kaitlin Obermeyer
Ke Peng
Kris Sanford
Kyle Seis
Eric Thompson
Morgan Ford Willingham
Kimberly Witham
Jacob Yeung


Filter Photo is proud to acknowledge the support of the David C. & Sarajean Ruttenberg Arts Foundation in producing this exhibition.


Exhibition Dates: March 11 – April 23, 2016
Opening Reception: March 18 | 6pm – 9pm
Location: Filter Space 1821 W. Hubbard St., Ste. 207

Gallery Hours: Monday – Saturday 11am – 5pm


Filter Space

1821 W Hubbard St | Suite 207

Chicago | Illinois | 60622



Monday - Friday | 11am - 5pm 

Saturday | 12 pm - 4 pm

November 20 - December 12

By appointment only

Gallery closed November 25 - 28

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • mc

Filter Photo is partly supported by grants from The MacArthur Funds for Arts and Culture at The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation, The Illinois Arts Council Agency, a CityArts Grant from the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs & Special Events, The Fogelson Family Foundation, and The Hegner Family Foundation.